Organs 

Hey Readers!

This week I’m changing it up!
Instead of me writing I am sharing pieces or a piece of work I’ve been working on in my creative writing class. For anyone who does know me I am not very good with sharing my work, but I feel like maybe it’s time I shake the fear of that and what better way then my blog. So below is a piece I called “Organs” I hope you can enjoy it as a reader and feel free to comment and tell me what you think !

Organs

I am searching for the surface, but can’t find it. My body numb, the water as cold as the piercing look my mother would give us as children right before we got in trouble. Then Sunday mornings, the warm sun in my blinds. Or my dad holding my hand, wind blowing against my closed eyes. The start of fall, the smell of rain, driving with my favorite cd on repeat, singing “love is watching someone die.” And then I’m on the monkey bars, my grip slipping just before breaking my arm. I feel myself letting go of each moment like air bubbles. Who’s going to watch me die? In the library, or 10,000 feet in the air my blood is the bitter wind on a January day. I am frozen, rooted in this water like a weed in a stubborn garden. I try to replay in my mind how I got to this point, my body is turning stiff and I am sinking. I try to tread but can’t find the movement in my legs. My body is an anchor, pulling me under. I keep telling myself that I will make it out, but I know that this is where my story ends. I no longer feel the strength to keep moving. Mrs. Skirdla is yelling at me to raise my hand but I don’t care. The water pulls me, and I try to reach the surface but it’s useless. I close my eyes and let it consume me. I am the water.
Love and light ,
Dre

Leave a comment